Sunday, August 5, 2018

Understanding Dumpsters via moral development

Check out Kohlberg's moral development hierarchy. Much has been written about Dumpsters and the authoritarian complex, the authoritarian leader at the top and the rest being blind followers. It also jibes with Lakoff describing them using strict father morality. You can see from Kohlberg that the pre- and conventional moral levels typify such behaviors, while the post-conventional is more typical of educated, informed liberals. Note that the 5th phase moral code, social contract, is what our founders had in mind when setting up our country. That though has to be inculcated through education and training. Lacking that most Americans are at the lower phases and easily manipulated by authoritarians feeding their predispositions. Just the levels and phases are listed below; see the link for the details.

Level 1 (Pre-Conventional)

1. Obedience and punishment orientation (How can I avoid punishment?)
2. Self-interest orientation (What's in it for me?) (Paying for a benefit)

Level 2 (Conventional)

3. Interpersonal accord and conformity (Social norms) (The good boy/girl attitude)
4. Authority and social-order maintaining orientation (Law and order morality)

Level 3 (Post-Conventional)

5. Social contract orientation
6. Universal ethical principles

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.