Friday, January 9, 2015

35 Democrats vote to gut Wall Street reform

Otherwise known as conservadems or corporate cock suckers. See the following from Daily Kos and please consider signing the petition to let these Wall Street lackeys know we will see them in the primaries.

sign the petition denouncing the 35 House Democrats who joined Republicans in trying to gut the Wall Street reform bill that Democrats and Elizabeth Warren worked so hard to pass in 2010.

On their second day in session, the House voted on a bill designed to weaken the most important protections of the Wall Street reform bill of 2010.

Thirty-five Democrats voted with Republicans and almost allowed the bill to pass. Fortunately, the bill didn’t meet the necessary two-thirds vote threshold to override President Obama's expected veto.
Wall Street reform was passed in an attempt to prevent another 2008 financial crisis by lowering risk in various parts of the U.S. financial system. Since its passage, Republicans and Democrats in league with Wall St. have done their best to eliminate its most important protections—and leave the U.S. vulnerable to another economic crisis.

Votes like this are calculated moves on the part of centrist Democrats to please donors and distance themselves from the Democratic Party. This isn’t the first offense for many of these bad actors and we’ll likely see more votes like this over the next two years.

Every time a Democrat abandons the Party to shill for corporations at the expense of their constituents, we must let them know we are watching and won’t forget when it comes time for re-election. Click here to sign the petition.

Keep fighting,
Monique Teal, Daily Kos

P.S. Here are the 35 House Democrats: Brad Ashford (NE-02), Ami Bera (CA-07), Don Beyer (VA-08), Sanford Bishop (GA-02), Julia Brownley (CA-26), Cheri Bustos (IL-17), John Carney (DE-AL), Gerry Connolly (VA-11), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), John Delaney (MD-06), Suzan DelBene (WA-01), Elizabeth Esty (CT-05), Bill Foster (IL-11), John Garamendi (CA-03), Gwen Graham (FL-02), Jim Himes (CT-04), Hank Johnson (GA-04), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Ron Kind (WI-03), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Dan Lipinski (IL-03), David Loebsack (IA-02), Sean Maloney (NY-18), Patrick Murphy (FL-18), Scott Peters (CA-52), Collin Peterson (MN-07), Jared Polis (CO-02), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), Bobby Rush (IL-01), Kurt Schrader (OR-05), David Scott (GA-13), Terri Sewell (AL-07), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09), Albio Sires (NJ-08).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.